Monday, November 26, 2007

Instructional Design Competency Standards

In 1986, IBSTPI developed and validated a set of competency standards to meet the needs of instructional designers and developers in the instructional technology field. In 2000, IBSTPI updated the instructional design competency standards to reflect evolving industry practice. The current IBSTPI standards consist of four domains, 23 competencies, and 121 performance statements. The competency domains include: Professional Foundations (PF), Planning and Analysis (PA), Design and Development (DD), and Implementation and Management (IM).

In 1996, NWCET identified eight information technology career clusters and skill standards and conducted nationwide research to validate a set of skill standards for the information technology field. In 2003, NWCET published and released the Information Technology Skill Standards. The NWCET standards reflected new and emerging workforce job roles, technical knowledge, and related foundational skills. Three of the skill clusters were identified as competency domains for the learning technologist role and include 18 competency standards. The three competency domains identified were Digital Media (DM), Technical Writing (TW), and Web Development and Administration (WDA).

NWCET identified skill clusters that expanded the required number of competency standards for learning technologists. This indicated a growing convergence of learning and information technology skills in the field. As a result, learning technologists must now master a combined set of competency standards, and these standards transcend the traditional instructional design competencies developed by IBSTPI. The combined competency framework includes a total of seven domains, 41 competencies, and 242 performance statements. For a detailed listing of the competency standards visit the IBSTPI and NWCET websites.

IBSTPI Standards

NWCET Standards

No comments: